FameLab - enter the competition
FameLab - enter the competition ©

FameLab

“Why did I participate in Famelab: Above all - because it's so much fun. Famelab is a truly unique experience in which I can take my enthusiasm for science and communicate it to a large audience in an energetic yet professional manner. Famelab presents a great opportunity for scientists of all ages to both learn about as well as practice science communication.” 

David Davila, French winner 2014 and international audience prize winner

FameLab aims to discover charismatic, up-and-coming scientists who inspire people to see the world from a new perspective... in just three minutes. Candidates explain a concept in science, mathematics or engineering in just three minutes using only the props they can carry on stage with them. Each presentation is judged according to the golden rule of the 3Cs: Content, Clarity and Charisma.

Communicating science accessibly and attractively is an ever-growing priority for researchers worldwide. FameLab helps young scientists acquire valuable skills to communicate their work accessibly and attractively to a non-scientific audience. By doing so they do not merely change the common stereotype of the scientist, but also justify public funding for research.

Since its birth at the Times Cheltenham Science Festival in 2005, FameLab® has grown into arguably the world’s leading science communication competition. A partnership with the British Council since 2007 has seen the competition go global with more than 5000 young scientists and engineers participating in over 21 different countries. Cheltenham Festivals and the British Council co-produce together the FameLab International Final held at the Cheltenham Science Festival each June. At the international final scientists from across Europe, Asia and Africa compete to see who is the most exciting, accessible and charismatic science communicator. Before going to Cheltenham they have already proved their scientific prowess and earned their crowns as national winners in their own countries.

External links

FameLab - participer au concours
FameLab - participer au concours ©

FameLab

Pourquoi j’ai participé à FameLab: par dessus tout - parce que c’est réellement amusant. FameLab est une expérience vraiment unique dans laquelle je peux exprimer mon enthousiasme pour la science et le communiquer à un large public de manière énergique mais professionnelle. FameLab présente une grande opportunité pour les scientifiques de tous les âges, pour à la fois apprendre et pratiquer la communication scientifique.

David Davila, lauréat national FameLab France 2014 et lauréat international du prix du public

FameLab vise à découvrir des scientifiques charismatiques et plein de promesses, qui encouragent les gens à voir le monde sous un nouvel angle...en seulement trois minutes. Les candidats expliquent un concept en sciences, en mathématiques ou en ingénierie en utilisant uniquement les accessoires qu'ils peuvent apporter avec eux sur scène. Chaque présentation est jugée en fonction de la règle d'or des 3C: contenu, clarté et charisme.

Communiquer la science de manière accessible et attrayante est une priorité croissante pour les chercheurs du monde entier. FameLab aide les jeunes à acquérir des compétences précieuses pour communiquer leur travail de manière accessible et attrayante à un public non-scientifique. Ce faisant, ils ne changent pas seulement le stéréotype répandu du scientifique, mais justifient également le financement public de la recherche.

Depuis sa naissance au Festival des Sciences de Cheltenham, en 2005, FameLab® est devenu sans aucun doute le plus important concours de communication scientifique au monde.  Le partenariat né en 2007 avec le British Council a engendré la mondialisation de la compétition, avec la participation de plus de 5000 jeunes scientifiques et ingénieurs dans plus de 25 pays. Le Festival de Cheltenham et le British Council co-produisent la finale internationale FameLab qui se tient au Festival des sciences de Cheltenham chaque année en juin. Lors de la finale internationale, des scientifiques venus d'Europe, d'Asie et d'Afrique et d’Amérique du Nord sont en concurrence pour déterminer qui d’entre eux est le communicateur scientifique le plus passionnant, intelligible et charismatique.

En savoir plus sur FameLab France et comment y participer

Voir aussi