Integrated Movement Research Collective performing at Zagreb Dance Week by Krunoslav Marinac
Integrated Movement Research Collective performing at Zagreb Dance Week by Krunoslav Marinac ©

Integrated Movement Research Collective performing at Zagreb Dance Week by Krunoslav Marinac

Disability Arts International is a website dedicated to creating more international opportunities for Deaf and disabled artists. Designed for an audience of arts professionals, programmers and venue managers, the website provides a unique window on to the work of disabled artists and disabled-led companies, and the context in which they are creating work.

Disability Arts International builds on the UK’s reputation as a home to many unique disabled artists whose excellent work is being presented and celebrated around the world. It offers artists an opportunity to highlight recent productions and find new international bookings. 

In addition to a growing directory of artists and companies, the website provides promoters access to resources, case studies and personal testimonies. In this way it shares insights into how the UK came to be recognised as a world leader in disabled-led arts and inspires debate about who can make art and who can access it.

The website features companies such as Graeae Theatre, Candoco Dance Company, The British Paraorchestra and Bobby Baker’s Daily Life Ltd. Films hosted on the site include commentary from co-director of the Paralympic Opening Ceremony Jenny Sealey MBE, Artistic Director and Chief Executive of Dance Umbrella Emma Gladstone, and Artistic Director of the Young Vic David Lan.

We are actively looking for French disabled artists or disabled-led companies to include in our artists and companies directory. Visit the website to find out how you can suggest an artist or company.

Unlimited Access

Disability Arts International was created as part of Unlimited Access – a project coordinated by the British Council and co-funded by the EU Culture programme. Unlimited Access is a partnership between the British Council and the Onassis Cultural Centre (Greece), Vo’Arte (Portugal) and the Croatian Institute for Movement and Dance (Croatia).

Unlimited and the Unlimited Festival

Disability Arts International and Unlimited Access are both inspired by Unlimited, a Cultural Olympiad project and ongoing programme of support for disabled artists in the UK. This year’s Unlimited Festival programme running from 2-7 September 2014 can be found on the website of the Southbank Centre

Contact

For any queries about Disability Arts International please feel free to contact us on disabilityartsint@britishcouncil.org.

Photo credit: Integrated Movement Research Collective performing at Zagreb Dance Week by Krunoslav Marinac.

Integrated Movement Research Collective performing at Zagreb Dance Week by Krunoslav Marinac
Integrated Movement Research Collective performing at Zagreb Dance Week by Krunoslav Marinac ©

Integrated Movement Research Collective performing at Zagreb Dance Week by Krunoslav Marinac

Disability Arts International est un nouveau site internet dédié à la création d’opportunités à l’international pour les artistes en situation de handicap. S’adressant aux professionnels du monde artistique, aux programmateurs et aux responsables d’espaces, le site propose une perspective unique sur le travail des artistes en situation de handicap et des compagnies artistiques intégrant la question du handicap dans leur travail, et informe également sur le contexte dans lequel ce travail de création s’effectue. 

Disability Arts International s’appuie sur et contribue à forger  la réputation du Royaume-Uni comme lieu d’expression de nombreux artistes en situation de handicap, dont les réalisations réputées sont présentées et reconnues à travers le monde. Le site offre aux artistes l’opportunité de présenter leurs productions récentes et de trouver des dates de tournées internationales. 

En plus d’un répertoire grandissant d'artistes et compagnies, le site offre aux professionnels du spectacle des ressources, des études de cas et des témoignages qui donnent à voir comment le Royaume-Uni est devenu un chef de file mondialement reconnu sur les questions du handicap dans les productions artistiques, sur l’origine de la création artistique (qui est artiste) et sur son public (qui peut y accéder).

Le site internet présente des compagnies artistiques comme le Graeae Theatre, Candoco Dance Company, The British Paraorchestra et Daily Life Ltd de Bobby Baker. Sur le site se trouvent des films et entretiens avec la co-directrice de la cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux Paralympiques, Jenny Sealey MBE, la directrice artistique et présidente de la Dance Umbrella, Emma Gladstone, et le directeur artistique du Young Vic, David Lan.

Nous cherchons en ce moment à inclure des artistes en situation de handicap français ou des compagnies artistiques intégrant les questions autour du handicap dans leur travail françaises dans notre répertoire. Vous pouvez suggérer un artiste ou une compagnie (informations en anglais).

Le site Disability Arts International est en anglais.

Unlimited Access

Disability Arts International a été créé dans le cadre de Unlimited Access, un projet coordonné par le British Council et cofinancé par le programme Culture de l’Union Européenne. Unlimited Access est un projet en partenariat entre le British Council, le centre culturel Onassis en Grèce, Vo’Arte au Portugal et l’Institut du mouvement et de la danse en Croatie.

Unlimited et le festival Unlimited

Disability Arts International et Unlimited Access sont tous les deux dans la continuation de Unlimited, un projet des Olympiades culturelles  et un programme actuel de soutien aux artistes en situation de handicap au Royaume-Uni. Cette année, le festival Unlimited se tiendra du 2 au 7 septembre : découvrez le programme sur le site du Southbank Centre

Contact

Pour toute question sur Disability Arts International, n’hésitez pas à nous écrire à disabilityartsint@britishcouncil.org.

Crédit image : Integrated Movement Research Collective durant la Semaine de la danse à Zagreb, par Krunoslav Marinac.